Wednesday, 1 April 2015

The Root Chakra
Chakras are important energy centres in the body that receives, assimilates and expresses life force energy. They influence our cells, organs our entire body in short. They influence our thoughts and actions. Any imbalance in any one of our chakras can affect our thinking and our health. Traditionally there are upto 88,000 chakras. We will focus on the seven important chakras. They are aligned on the spinal column. The seven main chakras in our body are the root or the Muladhara chakra, the sacral or the  Swadhisthana chakra, the navel or the Manipura chakra, the  heart or the Anahata chakra, the throat or the Visuddha chakra, the forehead or the Ajna chakra and the crown or the Sahasrara chakra.  Whenever a person blocks whatever experience he is having, he in turn blocks his chakras, which eventually become disfigured. When the chakras are functioning normally, each will be open, spinning clockwise to metabolize the particular energies needed from the universal energy field.
We will now run through each chakra individually.

The  root or the Muladhara chakra: In Sanskrit mula means root and adhara means support. The root is a four petal chakra. The bhij mantra for this chakra is LAM. So far as location is concerned, the Root lies between the anus and the perineum. The Gods associated with this chakra are  Brahma and Dakini. The root is associated with the element of lead and the planet Mercury, and supplies energy to small and large intestines, governs teeth, nails digestion gives stability.  There is a connection between the root chakra and the earth.
The Root chakra contributes towards the zest for life and being grounded. Those with a strong root chakra have a strong will to live and a lot of energy. If this chakra is depleted, it leads to a lack of trust in life. Here we will have to stimulate the root chakra.
To activate the root chakra one can use ruby, garnet or black tourmaline. Chanting the Bhij mantra will help. One can also sit in meditation and draw your attention to your root chakra, breathe red colour into the chakra, exhaling the toxins or negativities out. Once you are satisfied that the chakra is cleansed, visualise it red in colour rotating in a clockwise manner you can also incorporate the chant Om lam namah .
You will have to work on your root chakra if you have problems with your digestion, colon,  back pain sciatica, if you feel weak or tired, if you have lost faith or do not believe in the life process. One can use the Bach flower Clematis, Sweet Chestnut, Rock Rose to strengthen the root chakra. One can affirm saying thus: “I trust life supports me in fulfilling my purpose. I am willing to release all my fear and insecurity to live with joy now.”
To keep the root chakra healthy, make sure to be physically active, to ground yourself well, and to include red in your apparel.


Post a Comment


Get Started

Book a Session Attend Training
Contact Me